E of Q Review: The Passionate Mistakes and Intricate Corruption of One Girl in America

19 Dec

The Passionate Mistakes and Intricate Corruption of One Girl in AmericaThe Passionate Mistakes and Intricate Corruption of One Girl in America
By Michelle Tea
Foreward by Brandon Stosuy
Afterword by Eileen Myles
from Semiotext(e) Native Agents Series
Publisher: Semiotext(e) 

I got Passionate Mistakes… a couple months ago and it has been my companion most nights as a place to escape from the world around me. I have really appreciated the space it provides me to jump into someone else’s world and experience their problems.

Tea tells the story of growing up a young queer punk in Boston, which brings us all the likely tales of angst, rebellion and jealously. She writes about coming out, navigating life as a total freak that wants to clash with the world and eventually falling into a relationship which reeks of the worst emotional atrocities I see my friends going through every day. The whole story is woven with anecdotes about sex work, desires for queer sex and rebellion and the not so glits’ and glamour lifestyle of a poor kid growing up, with a big income and no future.

Passionate Mistakes… has been a welcome release from the anarchist theory and politics I previously read before bed. but lets be honest, insurgent writings about the crisis of everyday life doesn’t leave me with a clear head before bed.

I really appreciated Teas writing style, she is capable of sucking me in and leaving me with fading thoughts of her trip to Provincetown or her hot hook up with the dyke bartender. This was Michelle Teas first novel, followed by critically acclaimed Valencia and the graphic novel about sex work, Rent Girl. I know the publisher, Semiotext(e) more for their theory than their first person narratives, but I better understand their appreciation for writing after seeing the diversity of their books.

m.

Leave a Reply

